Non Licensed Work

Status
Not open for further replies.

engy

We may hate to admit it, but a homeowner (owner)may do their own electrical work.

I am a former Master Electrician and Licenced PE
(Worst thing I ever did was let my master's lapse after becoming an engineer)

One day last week I was at church burying conduit and installing floor boxes for a sound system in our new sanctuary. You-know-who shows up and has a problem with me doing electrical work. I explained I was a church member and thought we could do our own work. He said that is fine for residential, but not for a Church (being a PE didn't seem to impress him much either). He gave me the lecture, and then left without making a big deal of the situation. I'm thinking cool, he had his say, and I was able to continue, since the concrete was being poured the next day. Today I hear he was back and asking even more question.

Minnesota exempts owners from being licenced. The members of our church are the owners. I just happen to be head trustee and a council member.

Finally the questions:
1. is it a legitimate arguement on my part to do electrical work as an "owner"?
2. Would this be limited to trustees or council members? or any member?
3. How do you inspectors deal with churches?

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Re: Non Licensed Work

Michael, in N.C. a homeowner can do his own wiring on his residence, but no where else. This would mean he couldn't perform electrical work on a business or rental property he might own.

In Asheville a homeowner has to pass a simple test to be allowed to pull a permit.

The churches I have worked on as a volunteer have had a permit pulled by a Licensed EC.

The problem is, not all churches have someone of your caliber performing the volunteer work, and after all, it is a place of assembly. :(

Roger

jimwalker