Heated pavement

Sky Products

Occupation
Frozen Food
I’m posting this in the Canadian section because I thought Canadians might have more experience with heated driveways. I’m in Northern NJ waiting for the first snow storm of the season. I have 200amp service in my home. I’m putting in a new driveway in the spring and I was wondering about the electrical requirements per foot. I also have a Kohler 20KW standby generator. Is there a way to dedicate the generator to power a heated driveway during a snowstorm during an idle period. Cost to plow my 25x100 foot driveway is $250.
Just wondering if it would be possible and cost effective. Thanks.

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
I am conditonally allowing this, since it does not appear to be requesting DIY information.

I have no experience with heated pavement in residential applications, so I cannot comment much.

But a good electrician will know how to add a separate manual transfer switch for the driveway heaters or the subpanel that feeds them. (As long as the generator has the needed capacity.)
It will then be the OP's responsibility not to use any other heavy loads while the generator is powering the pavement heater(s). Disconnecting rest of the house while heating the driveway does not seem practical.

During the driveway installation is certainly the right time to get the job done if you decide for it. Adding heating to an existing driveway essentially requires rebuilding the driveway.

Sky Products

Occupation
Frozen Food
Thanks, I guess with two power sources, generator and grid, the 20KW stand by generator could power the house while the 200 amp grid could exclusively power the heated pavement. I’m going to need a new driveway (pavers) this time anyway. It seems not too many contractors are experienced in this. My wife just informed me the plow is costing 350. Not bad but I have to wait for them to show up. Trying to plan ahead. Thanks again.

LarryFine