What to do-Apprenticeship Costs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tacovolt

Occupation
Apprentice
I am a 4th year apprentice and will be taking my exam in a month. I've worked for my company for 5 years. I owe them roughly 7k per year for each year (4) of training after I graduate, 28k in total. I obviously regret this because now I am stuck in this area for anther 4 years.

Did anyone have any luck getting out of this, or lowering costs- possibly by finding a company that was willing to cover some/all of the costs.

I'd appreciate hearing your experiences or words of advice!

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
My understanding is if it is an apprenticeship registered with the federal government, and most are, this is not legal. But I could be in error.

You would be wise to pay a few bucks to a lawyer to find out for sure.

Last edited:

Ken_S

Occupation
Electrician
Apprenticeship classes in my area range from completely free to no more than 2000k a year. Your arrangement seems off.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
I owe them roughly 7k per year for each year (4) of training after I graduate, 28k in total. I obviously regret this because now I am stuck in this area for anther 4 years. Did anyone have any luck getting out of this, or lowering costs.
Why 4 more years you can't work for someone else and pay off the schooling? And in my book if you signed a deal to repay them them you owe them the money.

Hv&Lv

Occupation
Engineer/Technician
I am a 4th year apprentice and will be taking my exam in a month. I've worked for my company for 5 years. I owe them roughly 7k per year for each year (4) of training after I graduate, 28k in total. I obviously regret this because now I am stuck in this area for anther 4 years.

Did anyone have any luck getting out of this, or lowering costs- possibly by finding a company that was willing to cover some/all of the costs.

I'd appreciate hearing your experiences or words of advice!