What is the code for sealing low voltage?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Interesting forum. New member.

I am a sales engineer for a tel/data company and all we do is install low voltage (voice/data/video/audio) cabling.

The posts about low voltage are interesting and, separate from this, if anyone has questions about datacom wiring, I'll be happy to field them (to my best ability!!) here or via e-mail.

The question I have is in regard to sealing of conduit for low voltage installations. We are being told by a customer that conduit we used for low voltage cable needs to be sealed in certain areas as he has some areas which require explosion proof devices. I understand what the sealing is for but my question is when are you required to seal conduits at various intervals and do those codes also apply to the non hazardous areas where conduit and low voltage is installed?

If I have not provided enough information in the above text, feel free to let me know.

Thanks in advance,

Kevin

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC
Re: What is the code for sealing low voltage?

We are being told by a customer that conduit we used for low voltage cable needs to be sealed in certain areas as he has some areas which require explosion proof devices.

Probably, but it can be a lot more involved than that. What is the classification of these "certain areas", or what is going on there that requires explosion proof devices? What equipment are you installing in these areas?

I can tell you that conduit installed in non-classified areas has no sealing requirement.

-Hal

Thanks Hal... been reading a lot of your posts!!

I am working on getting the exacts, but generally speaking it is a HUGE manufacturing plant and there is one (very small) area which we ran paging speakers with the cable in conduit which is either Class 1 or Clss 2 hazardous. I think there is one, maybe two speakers in this area.