voltage drop

Status
Not open for further replies.

porsche6

Im a fairly new inspector and had the opportunity to use a suretest analyzer. Upon testing several outlets, found many high voltage drops above 10%. This is a new condo. Can anyone take time to give me the ins and outs of this tester and if I even should be using this equipment when home inspecting
Thanks
Mike
Dynamic Home Inspection

ron

Re: voltage drop

Be sure you are using the correct setting for the type of circuit (15A or 20A).
There is no code requirement for a particular acceptable voltage drop. So after you establish the drop %, you can't do much with the information.

bennie

Esteemed Member

Almost every lighting, and convienence outlet circuit in all houses, will fail when using the Sure Test Tester.
The loading, simulated by the testers, is not a true indicator of the circuit integrity.

dereckbc

Staff member

First, Ron is correct, there is no NEC requirement for voltage drop percentage.

Second, Bennie, IMO the Idea Suere test is accurate. I have compared it too a load box and found it to be reasonable accurate for field checks.

iwire

Staff member

Dereck I am sure Bennie can speak for himself, :D

[ April 02, 2004, 05:19 AM: Message edited by: iwire ]

dereckbc

Staff member

Originally posted by iwire:
[QB] Is the test a valid one for a dwelling unit?
What load does the suretest put on the circuit?/QB]
Bob point taken. It was late when I posted, and it came across to me that the meter is not accurate, I contest it is.