Telephone premises wiring requires journeyman level elec

Status
Not open for further replies.

gfernow

I'm not believing this but I admit that I don't know... Can you tell me (if) and (where) the NEC requires electrical contractors to be licensed journeymen to install or maintain signaling or communications conductors in public or private buildings? I am a telephone company network technician (installation & repair) for Qwest in Boise, Idaho. A legislative bill is pending in my state to require the above, to " .. bring Idaho into compliance with the current National Electrical Code ... "
Thanks for your insight!

jimwalker

Re: Telephone premises wiring requires journeyman level elec

NEC doesn't require any license ,permits or inspectors.
Your state,county,town ,known as AHJ in NEC has that power and its a good idea for safety of others.Why would you have a problem with following NEC code ?

dereckbc

Staff member

I agree with Jim, it is a local jurisdiction decision. I use to work for Southwestern Bell, and MCI. If the Telco you work with (Qwest bought out US West) is a regulated utility, with a monopoly, and in thier own facility, then they are exempt from pulling permits. But that is a fine line.

Now if you are installing in public and private buildings (other than Qwest), then local rules apply.

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC

NEC requires electrical contractors to be licensed journeymen to install or maintain signaling or communications conductors in public or private buildings? ...A legislative bill is pending in my state to require the above, to " .. bring Idaho into compliance with the current National Electrical Code ... "

Yeah, and I'll bet if you dig deep enough you will find it was sponsored by the IBEW too.

As was said, the NEC has nothing to to say about licensing or who does the work, only your state or local government can do this.