Switch Gear

Status
Not open for further replies.

vmtrob

Just wondering if I could get an explanation as to what a switch gear does and is. I am new to the feild and trying to learn as much as possible. If anyone out there could help me it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks:D

ron

Simplistically, switchgear is a more sturdy version of a switchboard.
A switchboard is a more sturdy version of a panelboard.
A panelboard is a more sturdy version of a load center.

pipemaster

Banned
vmtrob said:
Just wondering if I could get an explanation as to what a switch gear does and is. I am new to the feild and trying to learn as much as possible. If anyone out there could help me it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks:D
This is easy. Switch gear is the service equipment. Maybe you should slow down and learn more about basics.

kingpb

Occupation
Engineer, Registered
I would get a hold of the Cutler Hammer Consulting Application Guide, and start reading the upfront sections, and look through the various equipment sections. There is a lot of information, that will help get you oriented. Then you can start asking more specific questions.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
ron said:
Simplistically, switchgear is a more sturdy version of a switchboard.
A switchboard is a more sturdy version of a panelboard.
A panelboard is a more sturdy version of a load center.

Where does it say this in the code book?

steve66

Occupation
Engineer
petersonra said:
Where does it say this in the code book?

Its more the terminology that manufacturers use. I don't think you will find any difference between switchgear and switchboards in the code book.

I'm still waiting for Ron to define a loadcenter:)

Steve

celtic

What is switchgear?

Good question.

Here's a few pictures:
outdoor_mcswitchgear1.jpg

Figure 1. Outdoor metal-clad switchgear

outdoor_switchgear.jpg

Figure 2. Outdoor metal-clad switchgear - cut-a-way view

indoor_mc_switchgear1.jpg

Figure 3. Indoor metal-clad switchgear