Suggestions for a simplified electrical code (to implement in Haiti)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

Obviously, I'm a little outside of the typical user in this forum, so let me start by introducing myself.
I'm an electrical engineer (though primarily trained in electronics design), but for the past 4 years, I have been a resident in Haiti as a missionary.

In my time here, I have helped with technical projects for many different organizations, and worked with more than a few licensed electricians as they were in country for a week or two. Now, I'm pretty much the "best available" electrician around here. There are many "schools" that give out certificates for electrical training, and I have been shocked (literally) by the work of these students on numerous occasions.

There is no set code, so for those of you worried about liability, you are not enabling me to circumvent an established system here. I am simply trying to take what I have learned, and start passing it on to a new generation of young Haitians so they can improve their own country.

All that said, these are my first goals of what to teach, but I would love to hear what you feel are the MOST important things to teach.

1- Wire Ampacity and choosing breakers.
- I will probably just be giving them the chart from this website titled "Commercial and Industrial Wiring and Raceway Chart"

2- 3 Wire systems and grounding.
- Most systems here are floating ground. I want to teach them to ground properly.
- I have been taught the basics are to make a neutral-ground connection in the primary panel box, tied to a ground rod with an appropriate (again, see chart above) conductor. Then, any subpanels should have separate neutral and ground bars.

3- Marking wires.
- Due to availability, wires may be all one color. I will be teaching to tag all wires on both ends (and wherever exposed) to indicate (at minimum) hot, neutral, and ground.

4- How to avoid cable damage.