starting out......

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparky 134

I have a few questions regarding starting an electrical contracting company. I have been an electrician for the past 9 years and I do have my electrical license. I am located in Illinois.

I would like some opinions/suggestions on the amount and type of insurance other contractors are carrying.

Also, after completing the process of becoming a corporation, how would I go about "selling" my tools, van, etc. to the corporation. My reasoning for this is to lower the profit the corp. makes in the first year. Or would I be better off leasing my van to the corp. ?

And as always, any other advice is greatly appreciated....

Bill

[ August 26, 2004, 07:15 AM: Message edited by: sparky 134 ]

luke warmwater

Re: starting out......

I don't know if Ill. has a minimum amount that you must carry.
DE min. is $300,000.
We carry $2 million.
Some jobs will require a minimum just to bid. Usually $1 million, but sometimes 2.

You can sell your tools and vehicle to the company.
Your accountant should be able to help with what is best for your situation.

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC

Usually your contractors license will require a certain amount of insurance and possibly a bond.

As for a corporation, there are several types. It's imperative that you consult with an accountant as to the one most suitable for you. They will also be able to advise on your question about the transfer of property. In some states there are tax issues such as sales tax on such transfers.

This brings up another point- make sure you register with you state sales tax bureau (or whatever you call it in Illinois) to collect sales tax on jobs that require it to be collected- such as repairs. Your accountant can advise and take care of this too. Good luck!

-Hal

active1