Soft Start Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

JES2727

A new customer of mine is having a problem with a 480V , 25hp motor. It began tripping the breaker at apparently random times, sometimes after 10 hours, sometimes after 24 hours, etc. But now it will run only for about 60 seconds before tripping. It is supplied through a Cutler Hammer soft starter. The starter is giving an error message code 25, phase imbalance. I'll be looking at this first thing in the morning. I could use some guidance as far as what to look for and what to check out. What would cause a phase imbalance? The customer seems to feel the soft starter is the problem, but C/H tech support does not agree, of course. I'm no expert on this sort of thing. Other than taking some amp and volt readings, I don't know what more to do. I don't own any analyzing equipment. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks.

John

RayS

My first guess would be a loose connection somewhere on 1 leg- that would explain the intermittent faults, and the new phase imbalance.

A little phase voltage imbalance can be a big problem- something like 25% more heating of windings with 3% imbalance. I think 3% would be the max. imbalance you would want to allow.

Wes G

Check current

Check current

The "phase imbalance" message usually indicates a current problem. I would check your current drawn by the different phases for balance. Do you have a motor that has a winding that has a phase winding that has an internal short?
Goodland, KS

ed_man