School art suspened from lights

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am an manager in the risk management department of an insurance company. I do inspections and train new inspectors. One issue that concerns me and I do write up is teachers hanging student art and posters from electrical light fixtures and conduit. I am having a problem finding code support in the National Electrical Code. Can anyone assist and let me know where in the code I can get support for making the recommendation of not allowing items to be hung from light fixtures and conduit?

Thank you so much for any assistance you may provide.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
Re: School art suspened from lights

Try Article 300.11(C):

?Cables Not Used as Means of Support. Cable wiring methods shall not be used as a means of support for other cables, raceways, or nonelectrical equipment.?

And thank you for your support. :roll:

Thank you so much for your help! All of our inspectors are required to note any electrical problems and require that it be checked by a licensed and qualified electrician. No self help allowed when it comes to electrical concerns.

Thanks again!

Originally posted by charlie b:
Try Article 300.11(C):

?Cables Not Used as Means of Support. Cable wiring methods shall not be used as a means of support for other cables, raceways, or nonelectrical equipment.?

And thank you for your support. :roll:

bennie

Esteemed Member

Unless specifically forbidden it is permitted. I would not classify Johnnie's finger paints as equipment. Sorry the freedom of expression takes precedence.

Of course if the paper is near an incandescent lamp there is a real problem.

ryan_618