Question for installing m/c cable with dimmer wires.

pvannoy

Occupation
Journeyman wireman
I've been an electrician for a few years now, but this is my first job with lighting controls. I am installing lights with 3 way dimmers and occupancy sensors. I am installing 12/3 MC with the little pink and purple dimmer control wires. My question is, do I need to run the dimmer control wire up to the fixture as well? Or do I need to run it up into the ceiling area for a power pack? Or just between the 3 way switches works just fine? I'm the JW on this job working by myself and others I've asked haven't given me an exact answer.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Strathead

Occupation
Electrician/Estimator/Project Manager/Superintendent
With the various components of the question you ask, you have three separate "systems" and you should think of each separately.

First you have the lighting circuit. Hot, neutral, switches, etc. I assume you are well versed in that, including three way, four way switches etc.

Second you have the lighting control system. Think of this as independent of the above. You usually have a power pack, which takes line voltage (doesn't need to be the same circuit as the lights but usually is). The power pack contains a relay that will interrupt power in the switch leg from the above, just before it enters the first light fixture. All the rest is independent and is usually low voltage wiring running to occupancy sensors, daylight sensors, photocells and/or low voltage switches, etc. Note that this is one basic way it it done, this can have many different configurations.