Pool pump tripping

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steed

Hello everyone been reading on this site for a while figured some of you might be the people to lend some valuable input.

This is in a hotel. There are 4 pumps total. All fed from a 400a GE B/O 208 3 phase can.

All breakers are GFCI 2 pole 20's.

These pumps have been running no issue until 2 days ago where ONE started tripping its breaker. Pool guys just replaced the pump that day.

The pool guys are swearing its not on their end. I have capped the feeds in the motor and the breaker will remain on, it is only tripping when the motor rev's up.

The pool pumps are hayward 1.5HP 115/230v

We have swapped this pump onto multiple other breakers as well as swapped out the whip, still the same result.

After speaking to hayward tech support they have told me my best route is to replace all my GE equipment with Siemens OR remove the GFCI.

I am no engineer, but to my knowledge all ground fault interrupting ratings on breakers are the same no matter the manufacturer. I do not see what is special about Siemens.

What gets me is that the other 3 identical pumps with identical breakers have zero issue.(all located in the same load center)

The owner of the pool company is siding with the manufacturer recommending we change out all related service equipment.

Any ideas?

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
It's a known issue with GFI protection on pool motors, and the general consensus is that for some reason, Siemens GFI breakers are better able to hold in on pool pump motors that other brands. Most pool equipment motor suppliers will tell you the same thing, some even print it in their manuals. It's been discussed in this forum (and others) several times in the past.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
I assume by "we" you mean the company you work for...