Parallel Feeders

Status
Not open for further replies.

mull982

Hello

I am new to the whole parallel feeders practice and was wondering how the feeders are terminated at their ends. I understand that the total ampacity of the load is split among the sets of parallel feeders and run, but what about when the sets of feedrs get to a load such as a motor? How are three sets of parallel feeders then connected to a motor? Do you need special parallel adapting hardware. I also am wondering the same thing about how they are terminated at an MCC. Can anyone shed some light on this?

Thanks

Mull982

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
I am going to keep this one open, and close the other one. This is a new thread, and the other post is a change of subject in someone else's thread. The other one had one comment, so I will move that comment here.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
Here is the one reply from the other thread. Please continue the discussion of this topic here.

steve66 said:
Larger circuit breakers, panels, switchgear, and disconnects usually have means to land parallel feeders. For example, a Square D L type breaker is rated up to 600A, and it has provisions for landing 1 or 2 sets from 4/0 to 500KCM.
steve66 said:
I've never fed a motor with parallel sets, so I'm not sure how you would terminate them. If you are trying to overcome voltage drop incurred on a long run, I would probably just set a disconnect at the motor, and then run a single set of wire to the motor.

Smart $

Esteemed Member
mull982 said:
Hello