Over kill bond bushing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawn pavich

I'm a electrician transition to solar about 2 yrs ago .fyi solar pays really good I just don't understand why. my first solar company I worked for used bond bushing everywere even the 240 volt AC side I ask my boss about it he said that's what the sub contracter wanted fair enough. So now I work for a company that sells there own solar I don't use bond bushing only on ringed knock outs and the box connecters we use have a lock rings with teeth I have worked all over ca but obviously not in every jurisdiction I try to tell the other guys you are over doing it with the ground bushing wast of money if we don't need it I have guys bond bushing the AC side there excuse is in the city Fontana are whatever city,they make you put bond bushing. I've never not passed a inspection because not having a bond bushing were it was not needed so is there excuse valid can the AHJ make you put bond bushing were you have a a means of bonding already that is listed in nec 250.92 thanks

luckylerado

... can the AHJ make you put bond bushing were you have a a means of bonding already that is listed in nec 250.92....

Probably, however generally speaking if you have code on your side and can make a case without being standoffish it has been my experience that AHJ will back off if they realize they are asking for more than is required.

I very often find that those guys that go way overboard on things like this often do so because they lack knowledge of what the code actually says.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
how much more does a bonding bushing cost over a standard lock nut?

I don't know much about solar installs but maybe there are some locals that think it is necessary and it is cheaper to add 50 cents to the cost of a job in hardware rather than fight it and spend thousands of dollars in time.

Smart $

Esteemed Member
...the box connecters we use have a lock rings with teeth...
...listed in nec 250.92...