Optional standby system

Status
Not open for further replies.

kevinware

I am an apprentice who is in need of clarification. I recently installed a Square "D" portable generator panel (QO48M30DSGP) on my single family dwelling. I had my lead man come over and check my work and I was informed I was in violation of the NEC because I should have installed my generator panel as a separate services panel and driven a separate ground rod. The way I have it installed is this: from my main service panel I have a 30 amp two pole breaker back-feeding a 30 Amp two pole breaker located in the generator panel. The generator is back-feeding another 30 amp two pole breaker in the same panel. The two 30 amp two pole breakers are mechanically interlocked and thus I thought I had a manual transfer switch. The grounded (white) wire from the generator flanged inlet is run to a grounded bus inside the generator panel. And the grounding (green) wire from the generator flanged inlet is run to a E.Q. bus inside the generator panel and back to the service panel. The buses inside the generator panel are not bonded together. The grounded bus of the generator panel and the grounded bus of the service are solidly connected (no break when transfer happens) and there is a main bonding jumper installed in the service panel. My lead man said this can be a potentially dangerous installation in that I am putting current on the utility's grounded wire coming into my house. I am trying to find in the NEC an article telling I need to open the grounded (white) wire. I am not trying to disrespect my lead man, I am just trying to understand. To my understanding article 100 does not define my setup as a "separately derived system" and I really can't find a reference that says I am illegal. Unless the statement in article 702.6 stating "inadvertent interconnection of normal and alternate sources of supply in any operation of the transfer equipment". If my setup in unsafe then why does article 702.10(B) stat