o.k., so I'm a rookie......

Status
Not open for further replies.

jtester

Re: o.k., so I'm a rookie......

I don't think there is a proper procedure for using an ohmmeter. About the best you could do is a go - no go test to verify continuity. I don't think there is a published value for maximum acceptable resistance.
Jim T

There must be a way and references to shed some guiding light.

I'm having similar issues in a post here regarding lack of a #8 bond conductor.
I'll post back here if I find some reference code, values or equipment etc.

Edit: And by the way, your well above the rookie status since you show the responsibility to take the initiative to pose the question and have the desire to search further to prevent an unsafe condition when there's a question. Acknowledge yourself for that.

[ January 28, 2005, 03:00 PM: Message edited by: danl ]

highkvoltage

Use a ground resistsance tester. Preform a fall of potential 3 point test. This should give you a pretty good idea.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician

highkvoltage,
Use a ground resistsance tester. Preform a fall of potential 3 point test. This should give you a pretty good idea.
We are talking about bonding, not grounding. The resistance to the earth is not important. The bonding of all conductive or semiconductive materials is what is important here. If you use an ohm meter between all metallic objects, I would expect to see a reading of less than a couple of ohms if the bonding is in place.
Don

izak

doenst the code call for equipment grounding purposes, or, 'effective fault path'

to be less than one ohm or one tenth of an ohm?

relbas

Question from anoter rookie...