New home not properly grounded.

Phelpstx

Occupation
Retired Electrician
Hello I’m a retired electrician and just bought a new home in the spring. Where we live we have a lot of new construction going on and have had a couple common surges here and there where we have to reset breakers. Here recently I noticed something unusual going on with our electric. We have a double oven in our kitchen and every time we would turn on the lower oven it would trip our garage gfci. The garage gfci 15 amp single pole and double oven 40 amp two pole are not connected in anyway.

The double oven has been checked by the manufacturer and appears to be fine.

After inspecting our main disconnect I determined the main bonding jumper from our main disconnect to our electrical panel was never installed by the builders electrician and the city inspector overlooked it. The only ground wires that our Main panel had was the gas bond, low voltage bond, plastic water ( no bond ) with no bonding jumper to the first means to disconnect.

I installed the bonding jumper from our main panel to our main disconnect which has our ground to the electrode, u/f ground, and now bonding jumper to the main panel.

As far as I can tell it does not appear that the home has no other damage due to not being properly grounded for a year. Is there any additional testing you would do to check the wiring inside the walls?

Anyone have a better explanation other than just not having a ground on why the garage gfci, afci would trip, and surge protectors go bad while using the double oven?

Thanks

letgomywago

Occupation
residential electrician