Neutral not bonded to ground??

YungSparky

Occupation
Apprentice Electrician
I'm a 1st year apprentice. Working on a job, out of curiosity I tested for continuity between neutral and ground on some branch circuit, and found that there was none. My understanding was that neutral was always bonded to ground at the main panel. I asked my foreman and he said something about why it wasn't necessary that I didn't understand. Can anyone help me understand what was going on? Thanks.

YungSparky

Occupation
Apprentice Electrician
How did you test for continuity?
In a junction box, between a) the neutral wire and the box/conduit and b) between the neutral wire and the grounding conductor.
I'm thinking maybe the circuit hadn't been landing in the panel yet, and he didn't understand my question?

acin

Occupation
general building contractor est.1984 . C 10 elec. lic.as of 8 / 7/ 2020
I'm a 1st year apprentice. Working on a job, out of curiosity I tested for continuity between neutral and ground on some branch circuit, and found that there was none. My understanding was that neutral was always bonded to ground at the main panel. I asked my foreman and he said something about why it wasn't necessary that I didn't understand. Can anyone help me understand what was going on? Thanks.
a prefect time to learn, ask him again

ramsy

Roger Ruhle dba NoFixNoPay
Occupation
Service Electrician 2020 NEC
a prefect time to learn, ask him again
Disconnects can open the neutral if all ungrounded conductors are also opened.

GFCI safety devices can also open the neutral when tripped.

Impedance grounded systems may not register continuity when using a high-impedance VOM.

Strathead

Occupation
Electrician/Estimator/Project Manager/Superintendent
Disconnects can open the neutral if all ungrounded conductors are also opened.

GFCI safety devices can also open the neutral when tripped.

Impedance grounded systems may not register continuity when using a high-impedance VOM.