Need Help With Unsafe Work Practices

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone. I need some advice and maybe some training resources/videos on arc flash explosions.

I am an electrical engineer with 20+ years heavy industrial electrical experience. I am a new employee (2 months) to a company where it is common practice by management (including my boss) to bump 3-phase motors for rotation by opening up the MCC bucket door and use a screwdriver to manually close the motor starter. I've explained how this practice is rather unsafe and dangerous. The most commons response is, "We've done this for 20 years and nothing's happened. Besides, the breaker will protect me if something's wrong.".
The MCCs do not have HOA switches or Start/Stop pushbuttons (it's a DeviceNet MCC).

Any advice on how to successfully influence these guys and change their ways would be appreciated.

Thanks,

John

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
Re: Need Help With Unsafe Work Practices

I don?t know if it is possible to un-train a person who has been trained, through many years of experience, to accept a dangerous situation as being perfectly safe. My philosophical contribution, for what it may be worth, is something I learned from a previous employer. It is this: To fully and properly address safety, you must consider three things: (1) The probability of an accident, (2) The consequences of an accident, and (3) The cost (i.e., money, time, effort, etc.) of taking actions to reduce items (1) and (2).