Motor overload protection

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am an instructor of Electrical Technology in a public technical high school. One of the courses we offer is entitled "Electric Motors and Controls". Now, the situation for discussion:
In the past I have seen three phase squirrel cage induction motors wound with a normally closed thermal disc embedded into the actual stator windings. This disc typically gets wired in series with the control circuit and is designed to open at a pre-set temperature. I personally believe that this method of protecting motors is better that the standard heater or induction type overload device because it protects the motor from any overheating regardless of whether the cause is a mechanical overload or a compromised air flow around the motor.
My specific questions are:
Am I correct in believing that the thermal disc is the best form of motor overload protection?
If I am correct, why do motors not come supplied with this feature as a standard option?
Does this feature have to be installed at a motor repair shop as part of a rewind job?
Can this feature be field installed by an on-site technician?
Any discussion on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

{Moderator's Note: Edited to remove personal contact information. If you wish to contact this person directly, then start by sending a Private Message.}

[ January 19, 2005, 12:16 PM: Message edited by: charlie b ]

69boss302

Re: Motor overload protection