Material mark up an hourly labor pricing.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wpaul29

First of all I would like to that everyone in advance that posts any replys for your input I greatly appreciate it.

I am fairly new to doing electrical work for my self an would like some input on different things. I have my master's license in the state of WV an have been in the trade for about 10 years. I have done some side work in the past but am increasingly looking at going full time into business for myself. Right now its just a part time thing until I get a feel for the whole way things should go.

I have a full time job with a large contractor an make about 26hr. plus benefits an vacation.

Basically I have 2 questions

1. What is a fair mark up percentage for residential an light commercial work for material considering the fact that people can go to Home Depot an other places to see the actual cost of some materials.

2.What is a fair hourly rate to charge for residential work an light commercial.

Right now I am charging 25hr.for residential an
35 for light commercial.

20 % mark up on materials to cover my time for getting materials and just in case I miss something in the estimate.

Please excuse my ignorance for anything posted as this is a new venture for me and I am just trying to get some expert opinion.

I mainly do work in small communities not citys and I am about 70 miles outside of Washington DC.

Depending on which state I work in the area in WV has a average family income of about 45,000 a year and in MD about 65,000 a year. Also I work under my fathers masters license in MD until I get mine there.

shocker3218

Re: Material mark up an hourly labor pricing.