Installing Additional Panel ( Load Increasing)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi

I'm fresh graduated Electrical Engineer and I'm working with utilities services company.

I have been asked to do calculations for installing new panel in a building supplied by 2 lines from 400 Amp Main breker.

I measured the full load current of the building ( during morning time) by using clamp meter and I faound it is 275 A.

The desired panel to be installed will be 150 Amp.

I said to the owner of building that the main breaker need to be cahnged in this case with bigger size breaker and I suggested with 500 Amp breaker((275 +150)X 1.25 = 531 Amp ==> Next Size Down = 500 Amp) .

Am I correct or wrong .

Please Help me I'm new with using NEC based on self-study since there isn't school or any institue in my country to teach how to use NEC and apply it.

Thanks

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Nedhal, was your 275 amp reading peak or short duration or was it sustained for a period of time?

You should take as much information as you can from the equipment on site and general lighting information (va per sq meter for part of the equation) to go along with the calculations in 220 and see what you arrive at as a comparrison.

Have you looked into Mike Holt's or Tom Henry's training materials to accompany the NEC.

Roger

hmspe

Occupation
PE
That's not normally the way I would approach this kind of project. A single clamp-on meter reading is not accurate enough to use to determine the existing load. Please see 2005 NEC 220.87 (220.35 in the 1999 or 2002 NEC) for the acceptable method for determining the existing building load. If you cannot obtain the existing demand as instructed in NEC 220.87 the only other acceptable method is to verify the load on each existing circuit breaker and calculate the feeder load per NEC Article 220.