improper half switced outlet?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kvl

while working on a remodel home I came across an outlet which had two seperate hot conductors with the tab still intact. I am an apprentice so I am learning. If each conductor were a seperate phase would the potential be 240VAC, and if they are the same phase would there be adverse effects if both sides of the outlet were being used. Thanks in advance.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
Re: improper half switced outlet?

If each conductor were a seperate phase would the potential be 240VAC
The potential would be zero. This would be a bolted fault and open the OCPD (overcurrent protective device).
Don

charlie

kvl, welcome to the forum.

If the tab were still intact, the only thing I can imagine is that the receptacle has a feed into it and out of it. In other words, the receptacle is used to continue the circuit and the tab is carrying the full circuit load of everything downstream from it. Anything else would be a dead short and nothing would work. :D

al hildenbrand

Occupation
Electrical Contractor, Electrical Consultant, Electrical Engineer

kvl posted December 28, 2004 08:08 AM
if they are the same phase would there be adverse effects if both sides of the outlet were being used.
</font>
  • <font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">Whether one or both receptacles are used doesn't matter. . . the total amount of the connected load does. I'll guess that what you saw was a 15 amp duplex receptacle. Also, I'll guess that two different 20 amp overcurrent protective devices (OCPD) had to be shut off before the receptacle was de-energized. 20 + 20 = 40 amps possible through one receptacle. That's a formula for a receptacle fire.</font>