Grounding of a satellite dish mast

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

This topic could go in the low voltage section, but since it is about grounding, I will put it here.
My name is Todd Humphrey, I have been installing satellite systems for 22 years. Currently I own and operate DBS Install, a support business for satellite dealers and technicians. I am also a retail council member with the Satellite Broadcasting and Communication Association (SBCA) which manages the satellite TV industries installer certification program.

There are many of us in the satellite business which are questioning the need to ground a satellite dish mast. The coax grounding requirement is not in question, that we understand 100%. The question is about the mast as defined in 810.
I can fully understand the mast grounding requirement of a 10' TV antenna mast on the roof of a house, but it seems that applying the same rule to a small piece of metal attached to the side of the house is somewhat unnecessary.

Section 810 says that 17 awg copper coated steel is a suitable ground conductor for a mast ground. The confusion sets in when the coax shield has less resistance 17ohms per thou vs 9 ohms per thou.
Are we wrong is in thinking that if the coax were bonded to the mast and the coax grounded to specs at POE, then both the mast and coax would be grounded?

What reasons can the NFPA have for requiring a mast installed 6 feet above the ground on the side of your house to be grounded, when the coax is already grounded, and in many cases electrically bonded to the mast or could be with a bonding strap between the mast and the LNBF (thing the cable connects to)?