GFI Receptacles

Status
Not open for further replies.

lachance

I have encountered a problem with some GFCI's in a customers home. I have seperated line and load and installed three new GFI receptacles, I've even pigtailed all the hots together to the line side and all the neutrials to the line neutral side and the GFI will still not trip out when testing hot to ground. The test and reset buttons work but the device does not trip out hot to ground. The kicker is that that is not the only GFI receptacle in the home doing this. I thought that maybe some how the neutrals of two different circuits were some how tied together. When testing for voltage I have a good hot, neutral, and ground. I hope someone may have some advice pertaining to this. I've been an electrician for a long time and have never seen anything like this, but maybe I am not seeing something and need a fresh set of eyes!!

bphgravity

Re: GFI Receptacles

What do you mean by "testing hot to ground"? If the gfci unit trips and resets using the buttons on the device itself, then it is working properly. Are you using a plug-in tester with a test button? No other method that I know is a correct method for testing gfci's.

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member

Only the button on the GFCI will properly test it. If it won't test with a plug in test then you do not have a connection to the equipment grounding conductor somewhere. The button inserts a resistor between the neutral and hot creating a 5 mA unbalance.

charlie

Your grounding conductor is not continuous from the panelboard to the GFCIs. Without a return grounding conductor, the GFCI can not be tested with an external GFCI tester. :D

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer