FPE panel - should I be concerned?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pahpah-cee

New User
Occupation
Field engineer
Hello,

I’m not an electrician by trade. I would appreciate a second opinion of my electrical panel for the house I’m renting. The house I believe was built in the 20’s. The enclosure doesn’t fully close which I’m sure is not acceptable. FPE stab loks are apparently not great from what I gathered. I’m sure rust isn’t good either.

I uploaded images of the panel and what I believe is the original panel next to it. I couldn’t figure out how to attach them to this post. https://ibb.co/album/C1RwQH

From my limited knowledge, I highly doubt this is safe. Could I get some help in what needs to be done to address this? My landlord is usually uninvolved, so I need to be direct in what needs to be done.

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
While this is not a DIY post, we can comment on the pictures.
Generally it appears to have many code violations. If your landlord has not corrected to date, you may not get it fixed
at least get renters insurance

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
I believe the majority of us would recommend hiring an electrician to inspect this and write a report to submit.

Another C10

Electrical Contractor 1987 - present
Occupation
Electrician NEC 2020
Well Lets see ....

No danger from what I can see here ..
an old distribution probably a junction point now.

1649391862647.png

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Looks like your doorbell transformer.
No real danger there except very old, maybe keep the door closed

4955-F4-D5-D5-A9-44-F9-9642-A40-AC246-B5-AD.png

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A little concerned on this, not sure what the return conductor is connected too.