Electrical Estimator

Status
Not open for further replies.

commelect192

Occupation
Estimator
I am an electrical estimator. I have been working for the same company for 13 years. I started with almost no electrical experience, and have gotten better and better over the years. I have no experience outside of my work environment to judge how well I am doing as an estimator, so I am genuinely curious how much volume, dollar wise, an estimator with my experience should be estimating each month. As well as how much contract value I should be winning each year. I keep meticulous records on what I bid so I have data on what bid/win each year, but just curious what is normal. The company I work for employs about 45 guys in the field, I am the sole estimator, and currently have no assistant, though one is on the way. We are a strictly commercial electrical contractor, winning projects in the $20K to $5MM range.

commelect192

Occupation
Estimator
Yes, I keep very good records, and review bids against actual cost once complete. I would consider myself very accurate. I have won thousands of projects, over the last 13 years, only 3-4 projects lost money, another 10 or so have come close to breaking even. The remainder have been very profitable. I by no means win every bid I submit. I have grown comfortable with my process, and put the best number I can on a project with a profit margin I am comfortable with. I guess my main reason for my question is I am trying to justify hiring an assistant. Last year I bid $64MM worth of work, and won about $11MM, with no help. Profit-wise we had the best year ever. This year looks like I will be bidding even more, and winning more. I am just curious what other commercial electrical contractors are getting out of their estimators, and how much I can expect to increase my output hiring an assistant.

LLSolutions