Does OSHA have any back bone?

Status
Not open for further replies.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Re: Does OSHA have any back bone?

Mike, I don't guess there is any way around it, to read the article everyone will have to register.

Go here then click on "register now" in the upper right hand side of the page.

After you register you can click on one the links above.

Sorry about that.

Roger

jimwalker

easy to fix and free just fill out
Most papers are free online
Created fav place thanks for link

[ December 23, 2003, 06:46 PM: Message edited by: jimwalker ]

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician

Jim, your welcome. The article is disturbing though. OSHA is more than willing to bark, but doesn't seem to carry a bite.

Roger

ryan_618

I agree with Jim. When I was 16 one of the guys that I was a carpenter with got killed on the job. Like Jim said, you see them too late.

Once we did see them, however, the company cleaned up their act very quickly.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician

We see them on a fairly regular basis in NC, but I never knew how weak they really are in a death case.

They will write someone up for a fine on every visit, and with the blatant disregard this company showed for OSHA, they obviously don't do much more than right fines.

Roger

jimwalker

I hope that family sues for millions.That might at least closed there doors.Fines or jail won't help this man now.The owner should face criminal charges

big john

I think we've all seen nonsense like that.

I worked a hospital job where the only thing the superintendant was concerned about was safety glasses. I saw a welder standing on the top of a twelve-foot step ladder on the edge of an eight story building, with no fall protection to speak of. Much like the article, I watched laborers work in a twenty-five foot trench adjacent to a building foundation; almost sheer walls and no shoring of any kind.