Could you help with ideas for a battery backup for sump pump.

Status
Not open for further replies.

AC\DC

Occupation
EC
Client has a sump pump and he has had he house flood when the power goes out.
He was told by another ec to go with a hole house generator.
I was wondering if there is a nice battery backup with automatic transfer for single loads.
He only wants the 3/4 jp 120volt motor on some form of a backup. And he won’t be home since it’s a vacation home.
Pump needs to run once a day for 5 days. About 3 hours
Any ideas!
I have no experience with battery backup system.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
From personal experience I can say that battery backup systems for sump pumps are a poor choice but once a day for 5 days it might be okay. If there is not a well I would use a water driven backup pump.

James L

Occupation
Electrician
This would run about $800 including a deep cycle battery...

James L

Occupation
Electrician
From personal experience I can say that battery backup systems for sump pumps are a poor choice but once a day for 5 days it might be okay. If there is not a well I would use a water driven backup pump.
Are you talking about a backup for 120v pump or 12v backup pump system? I'm curious what kind of issues you've had

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
Are you talking about a backup for 120v pump or 12v backup pump system? I'm curious what kind of issues you've had
I had a 120 volt pump with an inverter but when we lost power after a tropical storm for 7 days the battery wouldn't last 24 hours. I had to use an extra battery out of my boat and charge it at my inlaws house who had power swapping them out. If I wasn't around the basement would have flooded.

Todd0x1