Class 1000 clean room

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am bidding a job and designing some changes for a class 10000 clean room. I have no experience in this type of building. Currently they cannot get certification so they are redesigning cleanroom. Now does the lighting have to meet Californias title 24 requirements? Currently Emt is ran throught out the room. What type of material do I need to use if any different from normal. I just need some advice from someone who has experience in this type of work.

Thanks

Last edited:

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Do a google search for class 100k or class 5 clean room information, these rooms can be pretty specific in the products and materials that are used within them.

Roger

megloff11x

It's been a while, but I believe it's 1000 particles per cubic something or other. A Class 1000 would make an operating room look as a septic tank.

You will have a LOT of issues.

My advice would be don't bid it if you have never done one because you may find yourself making up the difference if held to it. And it won't be cheap.

We were threatened with $500-$1000 fines per occasion if we took off the gloves or masks or brought in unauthorized stuff. All work performed in a bunny suit. It often took a half hour to get dressed and undressed, each.

I'd pass on this, read up, and maybe bid a less stringent one in the future if you want to pursue these opportunities. Or hire someone who has done them.

Matt

dana1028