Clarification on Section 210.52(C)(2)

SGatewood

Occupation
Home Inspector
Howdy! First post and I am a Home Inspector, so take it easy on me!! lol
I'm in Texas, so we are on the 2023 NEC. Now that we are 6 months in to adoption, new construction homes are starting to have the '23 updates, which brings me to my question.

As I interpret the new requirements for Island and Peninsulas, only the receptacles serving countertops are not allowed and what would be considered a wall receptacle 12-16" AFF would still be permitted. Correct or am I wrong?

I was pretty confident in my answer until I spoke with an inspector buddy who is very knowledgeable in electrical and he interprets it as no receptacles are allowed on islands or peninsulas... but to me, that is not the intent of the change and would violate 210.52(A)(1).

So, experts... which one of us is right?

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
As I interpret the new requirements for Island and Peninsulas, only the receptacles serving countertops are not allowed and what would be considered a wall receptacle 12-16" AFF would still be permitted. Correct or am I wrong?
Would the wall receptacle be serving the countertop? IMO no.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
This is the section you are quoting

210.52(C)(2) Island and Peninsular Countertops and Work Surfaces.

Receptacle outlets, if installed to serve an island or peninsular countertop or work surface, shall be installed in accordance with 210.52(C)(3). If a receptacle outlet is not provided to serve an island or peninsular countertop or work surface, provisions shall be provided at the island or peninsula for future addition of a receptacle outlet to serve the island or peninsular countertop or work surface.

(3) Receptacle Outlet Location.

Receptacle outlets shall be located in one or more of the following:
  • (1)
    On or above, but not more than 500 mm (20 in.) above, a countertop or work surface
  • (2)