CEE Foundation Ground (Ufer) vs. two ground rods

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe.B

Occupation
Building Inspector
Hello, I'm new to the forum and I absolutely love the content here. I am also in a relatively new career for myself as a city building inspector, although I've been in the trades since I was 12. Electrical is my weakest subject and I'm currently studying for my electrical inspector certification which is how I found this amazing resource.

First I'll say that in my short 3 years as an inspector I have had 5 different building officials and it has been a roller coaster of a ride. Each official has their own interpretation of codes and I respect my bosses authority to make the final call, but I'm out in the field making real-life decisions that have long lasting implications. Enough preamble, here are my questions.

On CEE (Ufer) ground connections, I read in the 2019 Ca Electric code (based off of 2017 NEC) 250.52 "All grounding electrodes...that are present...shall be bonded together..." as saying all components where available shall be incorporated into the grounding electrode system. When a new structure is being built from the ground up I see the rebar in the bottom of the footing as being "available" so I have been requiring a CEE to be installed and I have not been requiring additional ground rods to be installed provided that all available components have been incorporated into the GES. My new boss has been including on his plan-check comments the following statement (sorry for the poor wording but that's exactly how his comments appear):

"Provide grounding electrode system ( two ground rods or provide test that
shows the grounding system have 25 OHM’s or less ) and bonding of metal
water lines, metal gas lines, and all steel structures. Per 2019 CEC Article 250. 250.53"

He is telling me that they can also use a foundation ground but that is not required, and they still need to do the ground rods as well.