Breaker in house tripped by outbuilding with separate service

NC4

Occupation
Retired
First off, I am not an electrician. But, I have a problem that has stumped a few. Here’s the scenario.

My house was built in 1997. 200A underground service from utility box near street. In 2021 we built a completely separate building on the property about 200 feet from the house. We had a separate 200A service and meter installed to the new building. I was there when the power company dug and installed the lines. There is no connection between the house and the building other than a plastic water line that runs from the well to the house and then on to the building. In the building there is a point of use water heater. 220v, 50A breaker on 6AWG wire. We rarely use it.

In 2022 we had some renovation work done at the house. The electrician patched in to existing wiring to add some outlets and lights upstairs and as part of that changed a breaker to AFCI/GFCI. Everything worked fine for awhile until I retired and then we noticed the house upstairs breaker would occasionally trip. We went through extensive troubleshooting for about 6 months. Removed all devices and loads, replaced breaker, inspected all wiring and boxes in circuit, traced things, etc. Nothing looked wrong in the panel, and so on. The random trip continues.

Several weeks ago, just by accident I figured out that when I use the hater heater in the separate out building, it triggers the trip of the breaker in the house. How can that be given they are on separate feeds and separate meters? Any ideas on how to further troubleshoot and fix? Thanks.

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician
You would think that noise would be attenuated by the time it got to the house. Replace the breaker might be the first option.