Bidding Government Contracts

bcl

Occupation
Electrician (Owner/ Operator)
I was recently contacted by a GC bidding a bridge repair on a military base. The bridge repair is significant but the electrical portion involves swapping out some light fixtures and strapping a couple conduits.

I'm inclined to turn the project away because of the red tape, submittals required, etc. I'm a small contractor and don't really have the means to spend a bunch of time doing a design/ build for such a tiny project. I think the GC is just desperate because they can't find an electrician. The only reason I'm considering it is the potential for future projects.

Does anyone here have experience bidding these things? The up-front paperwork alone is enough to make you want to walk away. Is it worth it just to get your foot in the door? Seems like I would spend more time bidding the project (at least this first time around) than I would actually doing the project. Is this why they are having such a difficult time finding an electrician?

Don't want to get in over my head, but I also don't want to turn away a good opportunity. Thoughts?

d0nut

You will lose money on your first government contract as everything will take at least three times as long as it would in the private sector. If you are looking at getting into more government contracting in the future, starting with a small, simple project just to see what is required is a great idea. Don't think of all the money and time you will lose on the project as waste. Think of it as tuition to learn how to do government projects.

bcl

Occupation
Electrician (Owner/ Operator)