Bid Draws

Status
Not open for further replies.

voltage37

I am a very small electrical contractor. Most of my work is done t&m. I am ready to bid on a body shop. What i want to know is what should i ask for draws on the job. How do most of you get you draws?

khixxx

Re: Bid Draws

my opion would be to get the prints from the owner of the body sbop though his engineer or architact.If not then do the bid to NEC, and to other specs the owner might have. I would be sure that you get the same specs of the others bidding and put it all in a contract so if somthing is left out it won't cost you.

voltage37

Thanks but that is not what i really want to know. I want to know how much money you ask after you have the job. Do you get half down and the balance when done or less down and more draws.

william runkle

It all depends upon how much is the bid if low which I don't think it would be 50-50 Half at commencement and Half at final. If it is large then 40% at commencement and 40% at rough inspection and 20% at Final Inspection okay and use the second draw as assurance to be paid prior to inspection no money no inspection and all work is stopped, sounds mean but that way you can use their money and you will not be banking them.

celtic

That's pretty generous of you...you are essentially loaning 50% of the money to the customer FREE of charge to them, and possible end up losing that money.

I would accept no less than 40% before work starts...maybe 25% at signing, another 15% when they are ready to start (40%);
I would take no less than 30% PRIOR to a rough/turn on inspection(30%);
I would accept no less than 20% PRIOR to a final inspection(20%).
I would accept the final payment of no MORE than 10% after completion(10%).
You spread the payments out in direct proportion to your progress...which may make it easier for the customer to make the payment (or least hang onto some and make some interest putting it into 30 day CDs).