Avoiding Mistakes

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparkster

I have been an Electrician for 23 years and have held a Ca Lic for 15 years and have been building a buisness for the last 16 months. I have 4 guy's 3 Journeymen one Apprentice plus myself when I have time to get my bags on, I just want to get everyone's input in simular situations of what not to do? Thanx for any input you can add.

sparkster

Re: Avoiding Mistakes

I was hoping that someone with experience in running a small shop would respond and give me some life altering advice. Mabey on suppliing trucks and tools and wagews and dealinfg with . ectt.....customers,

indcom

I've been in the electrical industry for over 20 years and in the estimating/project mgt. field of it for the past 7 years. I've had numerous encounters with irate customers in the past wanting to know things such as "When will you be done", "Why does this cost so much", and so on and on and on.
There's no quick fix answer. The best advice I can offer is to be upfront and honest before they even ask. Keeping customers informed upfront with good and bad news or delays will help them work their schedules better and they'll appreciate your efforts alot more.
Take your guys out to lunch once in a while. Get their feed-back and input on company standards and policies. Do your best to incorporate them. If you can or can't - again - let them know up front or as soon as possible.
Tools is always an issue. Things you should supply are major tools such as ladders, hammer-drills, drill motors (1/2"), power saws, & conduit benders. Small hand tools need to be furnished by the employee including a KO set up to 1 1/4".