Article 725

Status
Not open for further replies.

grecon

I am a Controls Engineer/systems integrator for automated lumber handling company.
I spend most my time designing industrial control panels and doing the PLC programming.(Panels are all UL 508A listed)

I have recently also started to involve myself with the electrical installation of the industrial equipment.

After studying the electrical installation practices and a quick look through the 2005 NEC code book, I have determined that we may be in violation of a few code rules. In particular Article 725 and Article 800.

The problem I see is with the cabling for Class 1 circuits and PLC communications from control panel to equipment.

Before I go too far into detail about the problems I see, let me ask this question:

Are there rules that in NFPA79 standards that supercede the NEC rules so that some or all of the violations I see are actually allowed?

I need to know this so I can determine if I need the NFPA79 standards book or do a major overhaul on our installation practices.

Thanks in advance.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Re: Article 725

generally, NFPA79 applies to the equipment itself, while NEC applies to the installation thereof.

this does not mean you can completely ignore NEC requirements because you have to accomodate them in the equipment design.

I think you would need to give us some specifics to be able to tell you more.

grecon

Here are a few examples. I apologize for the lengthy reading.

Example #1
10 amp 24VDC Class 1 circuit from control panel.. Feeds a 10 conductor cable going to a Sensor Actuator Block. (molded self contained junction box for sensors etc)
Manufacturer of Sensor Actuator Control Block supplies the cable. Has molded 12 pin connector.
The cable consists of 11 conductors. 3 of them are 18 AWG for power and ground and the other 8 are for PLC Inputs and outputs.
Cable markings: ?PUR/PVC 8x0,34/3x0,75 ?LN0085957- 001041485 CE?