AFCI

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am an electrical inspector who ran accross an unusual situation involving an AFCI and non-AFCI bonding conductor interconnection. The last receptacle box on the bedroom circuit(AFCI)was use as a JB for a non-AFCI circuit dueto a damaged cable. The owner spliced the hot and identified conductor straight though but also connected all 3 bonding conductors together. when the AFCI is turned back on it trips. Isolating the AFCI bonding conductor from the non AFCI solved the problem.
Question: How does the bonding conductor get involved with an AFCI?

jimwalker

Re: AFCI

How can we have a non afci junction box in a bed room without calling it an outlet ?Is this fed from a non afci breaker ?That box to me is an outlet, so if it has a feed from a non afci breaker then it should not be there. :confused:What exactly are you saying ? he bonded what together ? the neutrals from the non afci circuit with those of the afci ncircuit ?

[ June 12, 2004, 03:09 PM: Message edited by: jimwalker ]

tonyi

A j-box with nothing that would draw current isn't an outlet. You could wallpaper a BR with'em and it would be OK.

Q: is the AFCI branch's neutral isolated from the non-AFCI one? If not, that would be a hardwired "instant-trip" situation the AFCI's GF aspect is going to trip on.

Even if the non-AFCI branch is leaking onto the (connected common) gnds, that leakage isn't something the AFCI device would see.

bphgravity

I'm under the assumption that some sort of cross connection between the ungrounded or grounded conductor was made.

The grounding conductor plays no part in the normal operation of the AFCI. Its just not possible for the EGC to cause the AFCI to trip unless you have unintentional contact with the grounded and grounding conductors in the box. :confused:

[ June 13, 2004, 09:43 AM: Message edited by: bphgravity ]