Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

GG

I have been an electrical contractor for 3 years now. I'm a 2 man shop and thats all I care to ever amount to. I pay the bills and save as much as I can. Things are going smooth. Now enter into the picture an old friend of mine thats an electrician that is really pressuring me hard to partner with him. He wants to hire a 4 man crew, buy service vans, get a bigger office, and hire a receptionist. I said sounds great but where are you going to get all the work to pay for all these things you think we will need. He just keeps saying he will get us the work. I told him the best I could do is 50/50 on any work he brings in and he is actually on the job with his tools on, and 10% for any jobs he brings in that he doesn't actually work on the job site. I just have a feeling that with this old friend I would be out of business in a year. Have any of you had a friend like this and if so what did you do? Plus now that I think back when we did a job together 4 years ago he would show up late and leave early. Do you think it is worth the risk to see if he can bring in the work?

hardworkingstiff

Re: Advice

ABSOLUTELY NOT!!!!

This "friend" needs to build his own business, or like you said, bring work to your business.

Maybe you could offer to let him work on a commission on the work he brings in if it is sales that he is after. Based on what you have said, it doesn't seem like he wants to work. You are the Chief, and what you need are good Indians.

tshea

A very good friend of mine once said that the only one he would partner with is the one he sleeps with!
I am in full agreement.
My only partner is my wife of 28 yrs.
He has me beat by 10 yrs.

Your "friend" sounds like the guy with so many ideas...but limited resources.

Go to coffee and explain to him that you don't want a partner right now. You want to give YOUR best shot and that means no partner at this time.

[ June 14, 2005, 11:09 AM: Message edited by: tshea ]