advertising

Status
Not open for further replies.

rickl

hi i'm just starting out (4th week) i need some advice on advertising, i'm in 2 papers and after $240 i have nothing to show not even 1 call. maybe i'm a little inpatient but at this point i figured i'd at least get 1 maybe 2 jobs, the only jobs i have are from word of mouth. the new phone books doesn't come out until june, so what are some of the best ways to get your name out there? flyers, radio ads,

noxx

Re: advertising

As a small independent, word of mouth is probably your best friend, although it doesn't always move as quickly as one would like.

Just bear it mind it's very easy to get under the advertising monster. More and larger ads surely bring calls, they increase exponentially in cost however, which must be passed on to your customer. It's a common error to spend too much on advertising, generating a high volume of calls with a low volume of actual work because you've priced yourself out of 80% of incoming calls with the ad budget.

Of course, that leaves you doing 20% of your incoming work at an exorbitant rate, which not everyone is averse to. It's just something I've seen many times where small companies end up working just to feed the phone book.

gndrod

rickl, Just a thought. If you are into residential piecework, a note and card to independent home inspectors might work.

rbj

electricmanscott

I like the free route. Stop at any projects you see, new house additions renovations etc. Talk to the gc. Sell yourself. This actually works and it costs you nothing.

jimwalker

What i did was type an introduction letter and hand delivered them to all the GC in the area i wished to serve.The one i thought was just a waste of time and paper turned out to be a house a week contractor.