A new one on me

ggunn

PE (Electrical), NABCEP certified
Occupation
Consulting Electrical Engineer - Photovoltaic Systems
I have been designing commercial and residential PV systems for 15 years, but this is a new wrinkle for me.

A client has asked me to review a design for a PV system interconnection through a 600A fused disconnect with 500A fuses tapped onto the busbars of a 4000A MDP. The conductors between the tap and the fused disco are two sets of 300kcmil copper. All this stuff is outdoors and the design calls for the disco to be within 10' of the MDP.

705.12(B)(2) specifically talks about connection through a backfed breaker, so I don't think it applies. 705.12(B)(5) may apply, but I don't know yet if the MDP busbars already "supply lugs" (supply is a verb in this context, I believe) or if they plan to add them, in which case does the article apply?

I have never done an interconnection this way, and it looks a bit weird to me. Whaddya think?

pv_n00b

Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer
This is fairly common in larger systems, if they have to be interconnected on the load side with no CB available. Typically a 4,000A SWBD is covered under engineering supervision (705.12(B)(6)). Just check the proposed busbar loading and AIC rating with the PV system added. The conductors between the bus tap and the PV disconnect fall under the tap rules.

ggunn

Occupation
This is fairly common in larger systems, if they have to be interconnected on the load side with no CB available. Typically a 4,000A SWBD is covered under engineering supervision (705.12(B)(6)). Just check the proposed busbar loading and AIC rating with the PV system added. The conductors between the bus tap and the PV disconnect fall under the tap rules.
I assume the busbar loading is under 705.12(B)(2) and the tap must be at the opposite end from the MCB.

Wouldn't a panel with feed thru lugs work for that?