A few questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

gsurface

I am an instructor for a new electrical program and though I have experience in the residential wiring, my main background is Engineering (Degree in Electrical Engineering). I just have a few questions that have crossed my mind. Here they go and hopefully I can have them asnwered :) .

1. What are advantages and disadvantages between single-and three-phase supply systems?
2. What are the differences between Wye and Delta connections? Why use one over the other?
3. In a 3-phase motor, how come it has no neutral connected to it? Doesn't the current need to return somehow?

Hopefully these questions aren't hard to answer. Cheers.

iwire

Staff member
Re: A few questions

Originally posted by gsurface:
I am an instructor for a new electrical program and though I have experience in the residential wiring, my main background is Engineering (Degree in Electrical Engineering). I just have a few questions that have crossed my mind. Here they go and hopefully I can have them answered :) .
Welcome and you came to the right place, all your questions can be answered by the various members here.

I am going to let you know you are bound to get some grief about being an instructor for an electrical program and needing answers to some of these questions.

I also wonder what the requirements are to be obtain a Degree in Electrical Engineering? :confused:

Some short answers, others will surly elaborate.

1. What are advantages and disadvantages between single-and three-phase supply systems?
Three phase is more cost efective.

As an example a 10 HP single phase motor draws 55 amps @ 208 volts.

A 10 HP three phase motor draws 30 amps @ 208 volts.

This results in smaller conductors, raceways, disconnects and ultimately a smaller service size.

Keep in mind the motor still uses about the same energy but it is now dived by 3 conductors not two.

There are also other advantages to 3 phase motors and systems.