3 1-phase inverters connected to each 3-phase supply.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karezo

Occupation
Technical and Design Engineer
I am very new to this industry, so please bear with me. I'm wondering if this setup is possible. Assuming all appliances within the system are single phase, I believe they wouldn't be affected by unbalanced supply/distribution between the 3 phases. But what would be the disadvantages here?

ggunn

PE (Electrical), NABCEP certified
Occupation
Consulting Electrical Engineer - Photovoltaic Systems
I am very new to this industry, so please bear with me. I'm wondering if this setup is possible. Assuming all appliances within the system are single phase, I believe they wouldn't be affected by unbalanced supply/distribution between the 3 phases. But what would be the disadvantages here?
Yes, it is possible to connect three single phase inverters to a three phase service, within some constraints. Most often it's phase to phase - AB, BC, and CA.

pv_n00b

Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer
This used to be the usual way to do it for smaller 3-phase systems back when the smallest 3-phase inverter was over 200kW. Try to use three inverters of the same rating. In a small number of cases, an AHJ would give grief over 705.40 and how loss of a phase should disconnect all the inverters. But that is rare.

Karezo

Occupation
Thanks for answering guys. I have another one though, what if I connect one 1-phase inverter to a 3-phase system?

I've searched online but I can't find if it should be connected A-B or A-N or if it even has any disadvantages.
Thanks again in advance!

ggunn

PE (Electrical), NABCEP certified
Occupation
Consulting Electrical Engineer - Photovoltaic Systems
Thanks for answering guys. I have another one though, what if I connect one 1-phase inverter to a 3-phase system?

I've searched online but I can't find if it should be connected A-B or A-N or if it even has any disadvantages.
Thanks again in advance!