YACCQ - Yet another career change question...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been a Software Analyst / Developer for about ten years now and I am pretty much burnt out on the industry as a whole.

I'm starting to begin research on becoming a Licensed Electrician (residential wiring only) and I know the next logical step would be to contact my local union and see what they have in terms of apprenticeship programs.

There is never a good time to change careers in the middle of your life and unfortunately I have financially obligations that makes taking a "helpers wage" rather unrealistic. And yet doing this and becoming licensed is really a key element of what I can see as my "dream job".

I tried asking my father, a mason, for advice in this regard but he thinks I'm losing my sanity because I want to give up a "cushy desk job that pays better".

I know this is not the proper forum for this type of topic but after searching google for several hours it seemed my best shot.

Any comments / advice would be most welcome,

R. Joe Reich

peter d

Re: YACCQ - Yet another career change question...

Being an electrician is one of the most satisfying and rewarding careers out there.

However, if taking an apprentice wage is unrealistic, then your goal of becoming an electrician is unrealistic. :roll: That is a choice you will have to make.

dillon3c

Joe sir,
I remeber growing up in my father's home.He was a Plumber & Pipe Fitter by trade at American Tobacco Company.I remeber as a "pup",Mom and Dad telling me, wagging there finger, "son never stick ANYTHING in these two small holes in the wall".. Being a hard-headed tot,I did..Made me eyes open pretty darn wide.From that day,It's always interested me,never regreted.Oh, and by the way,I have two(2) brothers,they heeded Mom and Dads advice..They took up Plumbing..(grin'in)

[ January 26, 2005, 04:28 PM: Message edited by: dillon3c ]

petersonra

Occupation
engineer

Originally posted by petersonra: