Wireless equipment UL'd?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lbartsch

Does RF coax, connectors, diplexers, duplexers, tower top amplifiers, straps, hangers, etc. as used in a cellular/PCS/microwave environment, need to be UL'd?

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
Re: Wireless equipment UL'd?

Most of that type radio equipment is not available in a listed version, UL or otherwise. Its really up to the AHJ, see section 90.4.
Take a look at section 90.3...

dereckbc

Staff member

I am no expert, but very few wireless providers have a utility status. I work for a telecom that is recognized as a utility in some regions, while not in others. I have bitten a few times over this and it is never clear. Always takes a lawyer to determine the status.

I know it is a legal status on a local basis, sometimes voted on by the public, ad valorem tax is assessed, has a monopoly, and right-of-ways are granted if applicable.

So IMO unless it is a true telephone company with right-of-ways, copper lines going to residence/commercial/industrial properties, or other such utilities like electric, CATV, or gas, I doubt they are exempt from permits or inspection.

I have been in electric utilities and telecom business for a long time, and I am still confused about when/where/what about the exempt status. :confused:

hurk27

I would have a hard time with a statement that they have to have lines to a customer to be called a utility as 90.2(B)(4) does not say anything about this.I would think in most states cellular company's would be governed by the state utility commission? At least here in Indiana it is. And a building like this is not mention in 90.2(A) at all

90.2(B)(4) Installations of communications equipment under the exclusive control of communications utilities located outdoors or in building spaces used exclusively for such installations
H'mmmm This give's me somthing to do some research on.

charlie