Wire prices - getting sadder by the day

Status
Not open for further replies.

goldstar

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
So, I thought I'd bite the bullet and get a few 250' coils of 14/2, 14/3 and 12/2 just to have on the truck. I went to a HD in Paterson, NJ (which is an enterprise zone - meaning you pay half the State sales tax). In addition, I would get an additional 10% off because I'm a military veteran. Low and behold there was NO 14/2 or 14/3 on the shelves. The 12/2 is now $140.00 per coil. It was about $60.00 in February of this year. I can't help but think that HD and Lowe's are profiteering on the copper shortages. They buy hundreds of pallets at a time that are sent to their distribution centers. They re-value ALL their inventory every time they buy more wire. That includes ALL the EXISTING inventory in their stores. That (LIFO) method of inventory valuing is generally reserved for businesses like gas stations who are unable to determine which gas was put in the tank first and last.

Granted, we can all say that we can just pass the rise in cost along to our customers but if the prices keep going up as rapidly as they have we won't have any customers to charge. Needless to say, I did not buy the coil of 12/2. I'll buy it when I need it and charge the customer accordingly (if they accept my price) :-(

flashlight

Occupation
Electrician, semi-retired
That is a shocking increase. And the Govt. still says inflation is low. Because cable is not in the "basket" of goods they measure for inflation.
I wonder if lumber is, it's a shocker now too.

oldsparky52

It seems to me that one of two things are going to happen. One is that the high prices are here to stay and inflation is getting ready to go parabolic. The other is that the economy slows to reduce prices. Either one is bad.

I long for the days of 1-2% growth and stable prices.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician