Wire lubricants and wet environment conduit

Status
Not open for further replies.

NOTSPARKY

Occupation
EE
Help me out please , I am an Electronic Engineer and need real world input. Thanks to Hurricane Sally destruction of yard and dock I now have 80 feet of new burried pvc conduit and another 140 feet of pvc conduit on a dock over a brackish bayou, slathered with yellow 77 on THHN THWN-2. Every single lube I find has a caution RE: conductive untill dry. Well, that conduit has not seen dry since it left the store. After this huge expense (rebuild) I was worried about longterm permeation and degradation of insulation on Wire by H20 and lube that is never going to dry. IDEAL product manager sent me a "we have UL listing" and a 1989 UL proposal for testing lubes, no results specific to any brand. In fact no data or results at all. Testing 77 and the Klein "clear" I read 520-850 k ohms for a 1 cm square of the raw gels. Diluted 16 oz in 5 gallons of H20, roughly the calculated volume of 220 feet of 3/4 pvc with a 40 % fill. Got clumps of yellow goop for one dilution no good for test, the clear stuff was about 5 Megs again for a 1cm square sample. Which tells me nothing except that I wasted a bunch of $ and should have asked someone first. So moving on: Anybody have info on deleterious effects if any on insulation, by wire lube ( wax, clear or foam) that cannot dry due to H20 accumulation in conduit ?

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
The inside of the outdoor conduit might never be completely dry. The conductors are rated for wet locations which includes the inside of a buried raceway. I wouldn't worry about it because at some point it may be full of water anyway. Let's see what others have to say.

Welcome to the Forum. :)

NOTSPARKY

Occupation
EE