Which Electrician is right?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RockyGwen

New User
Occupation
Retired
I have a small cottage (480) sq. ft. I am building and I am getting quotes for electricity. I can only have a 100 Amp breaker box with out paying thousands of dollars to upgrade my current system. I want to have all electric if possible. Plan to have a hot water heater, electric stove, refrigerator, microwave and an appropriately sized mini split heating and air system.

One of the electricians says I will be fine with a 100 amp breaker. The second electrician is telling me it will not carry all this. I would have to have stove and water heater run on gas. I am not an electrician just an older woman trying to make a wise decision and create a safe place for my 89 year old mother. I have already been scammed once on this project.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

hillbilly1

Occupation
Owner/electrical contractor
You are probably not getting scammed by either electrician, It would be rare to be running enough stuff at the same time to overload the 100 amp service, and if you did, all it would do is trip the main breaker. But you will have very little wiggle room for any growth. Heating would be the biggest load, and if several portable heaters were added on top of what the mini split used, and she was cooking a big Christmas dinner at the same time, it could possibly trip the main, which is what it’s designed to do if overloaded.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
IMO the 100 amp service will be fine. You can always upgrade it in the future if it turns out to be too small.

retirede

In years past, a 60A service would have been used and likely been just fine.

Well, no mini split or any AC back then. But with the AC, 100 is good.

480sparky

I can't see how the cost of a 200a over a 100a would be considered a 'rip-off'. The labor's not that much more for 200a, and the material itself shouldn't be thousands more.

Dennis Alwon