Which correction factor for temp.?

Status
Not open for further replies.

stephenherman

I am an electrical instructor and have a problem that I cannot not find the answer too. The question is: An electric annealing oven is located in an area with an ambient temperature of 125?F. The oven contains a 50 kW electric heating element and is connected to 480 volts. The conductors are to be copper with type THHN insulation. The termination temperature is not known. The furnace is expected to operate more than 3 hours continuously. What size conductor should be employed to make this connection?

50,000 / 480 = 104.167 amperes (Increase 125% because of continuous load, 104.167 x 1.25 = 130.2 amperes.) Although the insulation type is located in the 90 degree C column, the size must be selected from the 75 degree C column because termination temperature (110.14 C). The next step is to use the temperature corrections factors located at the bottom of table 310.16 because the oven is located in an area with 125 degrees F. Do I use the correction factor in the 75 degree column since the conductor size is chosen form that column, or do I use the correction factor in the 90 degree column since the insulation type is located in that column? The answer is 3/0 AWG if I use the correction factor from the 75 degree column and 2/0 AWG if I use the correction factor from the 90 degree column.

cpal

three phase ?? or single??

use the correction factor in the column that aligns with the insulation.

max load current may not exceed the 75 deg col.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
You would use the correction factor and the ampacity based on the insulation type of the conductor. In this case THHN is rated for 90 degrees C so you would find both the ampacity and correction factor in the 90 degree column.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
cpal said:
three phase ?? or single??